If there was any doubt as to who the face of boxing was in 2019, Canelo Alvarez answered it. The 29-year-old Mexican beat two quality opponents last year, outpointing Daniel Jacobs to unify middleweight titles in May, then jumped two weight classes to stop WBO light heavyweight titlist Sergey Kovalev in November.

So naturally, Alvarez was the overwhelming choice of the Boxing Writers Association of America as the 2019 Fighter of the Year, joining Ring, ESPN, The Athletic and Sports Illustrated in that selection.

This is the first time Alvarez (53-1-2, 36 KOs) is the BWAA’s Fighter of the Year. It also marks the first time in 32 years that a Mexican fight...

The Boxing Writers Association of America would like to announce its nominees for its annual year-end awards for 2019.

In nomination meetings in Las Vegas and over last weekend in New York, the BWAA determined the top candidates from 2019 for Fighter of the Year, Fight of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Manager of the Year, Most Courageous, Long and Meritorious, the Taub, for excellence in broadcast journalism and the Good Guy award.

Because it’s the end of the decade, the BWAA will also be selecting the first-ever Joe Louis of the Decade award (which in the past had no title).

All full BWAA members are eligible to vote, if their dues are paid for 2020. Vo...

The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce that its Sugar Ray Robinson 2018 Fighter of the Year is Oleksandr Usyk, who becomes the second Ukrainian to earn that distinction in the 81-year history of the award, following 2017’s winner, Vasiliy “Hi-Tech” Lomachenko. 

Usyk (16-0, 12 KOs) went 3-0 in 2018 in becoming the first unified cruiserweight champion in the four-belt era. What’s more, Usyk did it by winning each of his fights on the road. In January 2017, Usyk beat Mairis Briedis, in Riga, Latvia, Briedis’ hometown, by majority decision. In July, he beat Murat Gassiev in Moscow to unify all four title belts, by unanimous deci...

Please reload