The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce that its Sugar Ray Robinson 2018 Fighter of the Year is Oleksandr Usyk, who becomes the second Ukrainian to earn that distinction in the 81-year history of the award, following 2017’s winner, Vasiliy “Hi-Tech” Lomachenko. 

Usyk (16-0, 12 KOs) went 3-0 in 2018 in becoming the first unified cruiserweight champion in the four-belt era. What’s more, Usyk did it by winning each of his fights on the road. In January 2017, Usyk beat Mairis Briedis, in Riga, Latvia, Briedis’ hometown, by majority decision. In July, he beat Murat Gassiev in Moscow to unify all four title belts, by unanimous deci...

Please reload