Springs Toledo and Mark Kriegel scored highest among individual entrants, while Boxing News/BoxingNewsOnline.com topped the overall sweepstakes in the 18th annual Boxing Writers Association of America writing contest. Those who placed in the contest, which drew a record 147 submissions from a record 49 media representatives who cover the sport, will be recognized at the 94th annual BWAA Awards Ceremony, to be held May 31 at the Copacabana in New York City.

Toledo, a Boston native and frequent honoree in the BWAA writing contest, led all entrants with 14 points on a scoring system of five points for a first place, three for second, two for third and one...

BWAA Information Sheet: 2018 International Boxing Hall of Fame Nominees

With ballots either in hand, or on their way, for voters, below are biographical capsules on the new and returning candidates for entry into the International Boxing Hall of Fame, Modern Class.

First Time Nominees

Chris John
Career: 1998-2013
Major titles: WBA featherweight (June 4, 2004-December 6, 2013)
Hailed from: Banjarnegara, Indonesia
Record: 48-1-3 (22 KO) BoxRec Record
Record against Champions/Titlists and Hall of Famers: 3-1 (0 KO)

Champions/Titlists faced: Osamu Sato, Derrick Gainer, Juan Manuel Marquez, Simpiwe Vetyeka 

Champions/Titlists defeated: Osamu Sato (UD 12), D...

Please reload