The BWAA is proud to announce its first women's top 10 pound-for-pound list, selected on a point system. Twice a year, in June and December, the BWAA will go public with its listings.

Topping the first list is Cecilia Braekhus, who already made history earlier this year by being named the first BWAA Female Fighter of the Year. Braekhus is followed by Amanda Serrano, Layla McCarter, Claressa Shields, Yesica Yolanda Bopp, Jelena Mrdjenovich, Delfine Persoon, Kenia Enriquez, Mariana Juarez, Daniela Bermudez and Naoko Fujioka.

Fighters from seven different countries are represented, with the United States leading the way with three fighters li...

For the second-straight time, Vasiliy Lomachenko, now a lightweight, is the BWAA’s pound-for-pound king. Lomachenko remains on top followed by Terence Crawford, who held the position for the first two BWAA’s pound-for-pound polls, which are selected by BWAA members from respected news outlets and is broken down based on a descending points system, with a first-place vote receiving 10 points, a second-place vote receiving nine points and so on. Ties go to the fighter with the most votes.

The Boxing Writers Association of America will be listing on a bi-monthly basis its top-10 pound-for-pound fighters in the world. All BWAA members, full and auxiliary, c...

ATLANTIC CITY, N.J. — Between Bernard Fernandez and Dave Weinberg, they have covered everything in boxing. Fernandez, 70, the esteemed former Philadelphia Daily News boxing writer who retired in 2012, and the highly respected Weinberg, 60, the lead boxing writer for the Atlantic City Press, have combined for over 60 years of boxing coverage between them.

On Sunday, their work was celebrated when the two were inducted as part of the second class of the Atlantic City Boxing Hall of Fame (ACBOH) at the Claridge Hotel and Casino.

Fernandez and Weinberg were part of a sterling class that included all-time great Evander Holyfield along with Bobby Czyz, Bruce S...

Please reload