Twice a year, in June and December, the BWAA announces its women's top 10 pound-for-pound list, selected on a point system.

For the second-straight time, Cecilia Braekhus tops the list, but there is a push coming from Claressa Shields, who was selected as the BWAA’s 2018 Female Fighter of the Year and moves from No. 4 on the previous list in June to No. 2. Braekhus and Shields are followed by Layla McCarter, Amanda Serrano and Ireland's Katie Taylor, who makes her debut at No. 5. Yesica Yolanda Bopp, Daniela Bermudez and Mariana Juarez fell into a sixth-place tie, while Naoko Fujioka and debuting Canadian Marie Eve Dicaire round out the top 10.

Delfine P...

For the fourth-straight time, Vasiliy Lomachenko is the BWAA’s pound-for-pound king. Lomachenko maintains the No. 1 spot, once again outlasting Terence Crawford, who held the No. 1 position for the first two BWAA’s pound-for-pound polls, which are selected by BWAA members from respected news outlets and is broken down based on a descending points system, with a first-place vote receiving 10 points, a second-place vote receiving nine points and so on. Ties go to the fighter with the most votes.

The Boxing Writers Association of America will be listing on a bi-monthly basis its top-10 pound-for-pound fighters in the world. All BWAA members, full and auxil...

December 18, 2018

December 18, 2018


Fellow members of the BWAA,

It is now late December, which means that all of you should be thinking about going through your best work for selection as possible entries in the BWAA writing contest, the period for which extends from Jan. 1 through Dec. 31, 2018. The deadline for BWAA dues is Friday, January 25, 2019.

Any writers’ organization exists for several purposes, but high on all such lists, and the Boxing Writers Association of America is no different, is the imperative to acknowledge and reward the best work done by its members in a particular calendar year. The following rules and categori...

In a pivotal year for women’s boxing that saw the sport reach more people than ever before, two-time United States Olympic gold medal winner Claressa Shields continued to soar, as she successfully defended her two world middleweight titles, then added three super middleweight belts before the end of a campaign that earned her the 2018 Christy Marin Award, which is given to the Boxing Writers Association of America’s Female Fighter of the Year.

“I am thrilled and honored to receive the Fighter of the Year award from the Boxing Writers Association of America. It is a dream come true, and it furthers my goal to lift women’s boxing to new levels,” Shields s...

Please reload