December 18, 2019

Twice a year, in June and December, the BWAA announces its women's top 10 pound-for-pound list, selected on a point system.

It’s been an amazing year for Katie Taylor. The 33-year-old from Bray, Ireland, earlier this week was chosen as the BWAA’s 2019 Female Fighter of the Year, and she closes 2019 as the BWAA’s pound-for-pound best, unseating Claressa Shields, the BWAA 2018 Female Fighter of the Year.

In other movement, Cecilia Braekhus goes from No. 1 to No. 2, switching places with Shields, while Amanda Serrano maintains her place at No. 4.

Belgium’s Delfine Persoon retains her ranking at No. 5, Yesica Yolanda Bopp stays at No. 6, while Daniela Bermude...

Canelo Alvarez broke the seven-poll streak of Vasiliy Lomachenko as the BWAA’s pound-for-pound king in the most recent December 2019 poll. In the tightest BWAA pound-for-pound poll yet, Alvarez beat out Lomachenko by a point, based on his brilliant November stoppage of Sergey Kovalev, while bumping down Terence Crawford, who held the No. 2 position behind Lomachenko for over a year.

The BWAA’s pound-for-pound polls are selected by BWAA members from respected news outlets and is broken down based on a descending points system, with a first-place vote receiving 10 points, a second-place vote receiving nine points and so on. Ties go to the fighter with the...

The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce that Katie Taylor is the 2019 Female Fighter of the Year.

In 2019, Taylor extended her unbeaten record to 15-0 (with 6 knockouts), successfully defended three lightweight titles in March, unified all lightweight titles with a majority-decision victory in June over fellow pound-for-pound list member Delfine Persoon, then followed that up with a 140-pound title in November, making her a two division champion.

Taylor, 33, from Bray, Ireland, becomes the third recipient of the BWAA’s Christy Martin award, following Cecilia Braekhus (2017) and Claressa Shields (2018).

The Christy Martin award is ch...

December 16, 2019

Fellow members of the BWAA, any writers’ organization exists for several purposes, but high on all such lists, and the Boxing Writers Association of America is no different, is the imperative to acknowledge and reward the best work done by its members in a particular calendar year. The following rules and categories should be familiar to most of you, but it doesn’t hurt to repeat the obvious.

The 2019 writing contest consists of six categories, all of which are numbered (no identifying names or bylines seen by the judges), and must have appeared in print or online from January 1 through December 31. An independent panel of judges, as always, has the tas...

The Boxing Writers Association of America would like to announce its nominees for its annual year-end awards for 2019.

In nomination meetings in Las Vegas and over last weekend in New York, the BWAA determined the top candidates from 2019 for Fighter of the Year, Fight of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Manager of the Year, Most Courageous, Long and Meritorious, the Taub, for excellence in broadcast journalism and the Good Guy award.

Because it’s the end of the decade, the BWAA will also be selecting the first-ever Joe Louis of the Decade award (which in the past had no title).

All full BWAA members are eligible to vote, if their dues are paid for 2020. Vo...

Award-winning BWAA members Bernard Fernandez and Thomas Hauser have been inducted into International Boxing Hall of Fame, the IBHOF announced on Wednesday in a press release introducing its 2020 Hall of Fame class.

Joining Fernandez and Hauser in the modern boxing category are Bernard Hopkins (55-8-2, 32 KOs), Juan Manuel Marquez (56-7-1, 40 KOs) and Shane Mosley (49-10-1, 41 KOs). All are first-ballot Hall of Famers and all are multi-divisional champions. Additional members of the class will be Barbara Buttrick in the women’s Trailblazer category and “The Coal Miner’s Daughter” Christy Martin and “The Dutch Destroyer” Lucia Rijker in the women’s Modern...

Please reload