top of page

Katie Taylor Is The BWAA’s 2019 Female Fighter of the Year

The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce that Katie Taylor is the 2019 Female Fighter of the Year.

In 2019, Taylor extended her unbeaten record to 15-0 (with 6 knockouts), successfully defended three lightweight titles in March, unified all lightweight titles with a majority-decision victory in June over fellow pound-for-pound list member Delfine Persoon, then followed that up with a 140-pound title in November, making her a two division champion.

Taylor, 33, from Bray, Ireland, becomes the third recipient of the BWAA’s Christy Martin award, following Cecilia Braekhus (2017) and Claressa Shields (2018).

The Christy Martin award is chosen by a select group of women’s boxing experts.

Taylor will be honored at the BWAA’s annual award dinner, which will take place in 2020 at a site and date to be determined.

“I’m honored and delighted to be receiving this,” Taylor said. “This is one of the more prestigious awards in boxing. To receive it at the end of an amazing year is an even bigger honor.

“I think the biggest accomplishment this year was becoming the undisputed champion. Winning it at Madison Square Garden in one of the best fights of the year was huge for me, and huge for my country. It’s something I always dreamed of since I turned pro.”

Taylor is looking to make more history by becoming a two-division undisputed champion when she takes on Braekhus sometime in 2020.

OTHERS RECEIVING VOTES – Amanda Serrano, Mariana Juarez

VOTERS – David Avila, Jake Donovan, Sue Fox, Thomas Gerbasi, Mark Jones, Malissa Smith, Ryan Songalia.

Recent Posts


Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page