top of page

The BWAA Announces Its 2022 Annual Award Nominees

The Boxing Writers Association of America would like to announce its nominees for its annual year-end awards for 2022.

In a nomination meeting on Saturday, the BWAA determined the top candidates from 2022 for Fighter of the Year, Fight of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Manager of the Year, Most Courageous, Long and Meritorious.

All full BWAA members are eligible to vote, if their dues are paid for 2023. Voting can be done on the website under the ballot/voting tab. Only full BWAA member's vote will register.

The award winners will be announced on Monday, January 9, at 12-noon ET, after all award winners are personally notified.

Below is the list of BWAA 2022 candidates in alphabetical order.

BWAA 2022 Nominations:

Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter Of The Year 2022 nominees:

Dmitry Bivol

Hector Luis Garcia

Devin Haney

Naoya Inoue

Jesse “Bam” Rodriguez

Kenshiro Teraji

Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award Fight of the Year 2022 nominees:

Jermell Charlo KO 10 Brian Castano II

Sebastian Fundora KO 9 Erickson Lubin

Joe Joyce KO 11 Joe Parker

Sivenathi Nontshinga W 12 Hector Flores

Jai Opetaia W 12 Mairis Briedis

Leigh Wood KO 12 Michael Conlan

Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year 2022 nominees:

Bill Haney

Derrick James

Gennady Mashyanov

Colin Nathan

Bob Santos

Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year 2022 nominees:

Luis DeCubas Jr.

Bill Haney

Peter Kahn

Vadim Kornilov

Brian Peters

Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award 2022 nominees:

Lee Groves

Sam Jackson/Andrew Roberts

Jose Ramirez

Gary Russell Jr.

John Scully

Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism 2022 nominees:

David Dinkins

Jim Gray

Dave Harmon

Mauro Ranallo

James “Smitty” Smith

Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service 2022 nominees:

Ed Brophy

John DiSanto

Gordon Hall

Henry Hascup

John Sheppard

John McCain-Bill Crawford Courage Award 2022 nominees:

Prichard Colon

Billy Dib

Bernard Fernandez

Jose Santa Cruz Sr.

Oleksandr Usyk/Vasiliy Lomachenko


Recent Posts


Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page