top of page


BWAA 91st Annual Awards Dinner Is Sold Out Friday, June 24th, 2016, at the Copacabana in New York City

The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce the 91st Annual Awards Dinner on Friday, June 24, 2016, at the Copacabana in New York, NY, hosted by David Diamante, voice of the Brooklyn Nets and renowned ring announcer, is sold out. The event will start with cocktails at 6 PM and dinner and awards at 7:30 PM. Deemed “The Academy Awards of Boxing,” the BWAA Awards Dinner will honor the 2015 BWAA winners, which include Floyd Mayweather Jr. (Fighter of the Year); Francisco Vargas and Takashi Miura (Fight of the Year); Abel Sanchez, (Trainer of the Year); Marc Payton and Mark Taffet, co-winners for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism; Lou DiBella, (Honesty and Integrity in Boxing); and author Joyce Carol Oates, (Outstanding Boxing Writing). Other award winners to be honored include veteran boxing writer Bernard Fernandez, (Long and Meritorious Service); Showtime photographer Tom Casino (Courage in Overcoming Adversity); Don Chargin (Good Guy);Washington Post columnist William Gildea (Excellence in Boxing Journalism); and Al Haymon, who will receive a BWAA record fourth-straight Manager of the Year Award.

Tickets are available through the BWAA website, at, or by calling BWAA Board member Gina Andriolo at 917-312-6418 ( or BWAA President Joseph Santoliquito at Tickets are $200/per person and $150 for BWAA members only. Payment may be made via credit card, check, money order, or through Pay Pal on the BWAA website.

Payment must be received no later than June 17, 2016. A limited number of VIP seats are available for $400 per person or $4,000 per table of ten, which includes premium seating at the dinner and a special VIP gift. Special Sponsorship packages, which include tables, ads, signage and more, are also available.

Here is a complete list of this year’s winners: Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year:

Floyd Mayweather Jr. Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year:

Francisco Vargas-Takashi Miura Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year:

Abel Sanchez Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism co-winners:

Marc Payton, Mark Taffet James A. Farley Award For Honesty and Integrity:

Lou DiBella Bill Crawford Courage Award:

Tom Casino Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service:

Bernard Fernandez

Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award:

Don Chargin Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year:

Al Haymon A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writing:

Joyce Carol Oates Nat Fleischer Award Excellence in Boxing Journalism:

William Gildea

Recent Posts


Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page