top of page

BWAA 2020 Award Nominees

This was a strange and special year in boxing, considering the COVID-19 pandemic and the restrictions placed on the sport and throughout the world.

Boxing still went on. Fights took place, including some big ones, featuring great comebacks and amazing finishes.

The Boxing Writers Association of America, which has been in existence for 94 years and selects the best of the best in boxing every year, is looking forward to a huge 2021.

What we’re going to do is combine our awards ceremony for 2020 and 2021 together, which will make it the largest awards gala in the long history of the organization. Because of the truncated boxing year, we’re only going to present six awards for 2020.

We’ve already named Katie Taylor as our 2020 Female Fighter of the Year. So, below are the nominees for the five remaining categories. The ballots will be due Friday, January 22, 2021, and are for only due-paying full members. Only full member email addresses are registered in the system. If you are not a full BWAA member, your vote will be automatically cancelled and thrown into a spam folder.

Your $40 yearly dues for 2021 must be mailed in or executed via PAY PAL ( on or before Friday, January 22, 2021 as well. Again, only full members are eligible to vote. If there has been a change to your main email or home address, please inform us so we can update our records.

If sending dues by check, make them payable to: “Boxing Writers Association of America”

​Mail Checks to:


P. O BOX 1082


The voting link is here:

BWAA 2020 Award Nominees for:

Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter of The Year 2020 nominees:

Canelo Alvarez

Gervonta Davis

Tyson Fury

Teofimo Lopez Jr.

Errol Spence Jr.

Joe Smith Jr.

Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award Fight of the Year 2020 nominees:

Gervonta Davis-Leo Santa Cruz

Carlos Gongora-Ali Akhmedov

Juan Francisco Estrada-Carlos Cuadras II

Masayoshi Nakatani-Felix Verdejo

Alexander Povetkin-Dillian Whyte

Jose Zepeda-Ivan Baranchyk

Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year 2020 nominees:

Robert Garcia

Sugar Hill

Derrick James

Teofimo Lopez Sr.

Eddy Reynoso

Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year 2020 nominees:

Keith Connolly

Peter Kahn

David McWater

Rick Mirigian

Eddy Reynoso

John McCain-Bill Crawford Courage Award 2020 nominees:

Magomed Abdusalamov family

Mark Breland

Pritchard Colon

Derrick James

Jose Santa Cruz


Recent Posts


Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page