top of page

Canelo Alvarez Remains The BWAA Pound-For-Pound King

Canelo Alvarez rules atop the Boxing Writers Association of America’s top-10 bimonthly pound-for-pound poll again. Alvarez, the BWAA’s 2019 Fighter of the Year, reigns for the fourth-straight time.

Alvarez, who will take on WBC super middleweight mandatory challenger Avni Yildirim on February 27 at Miami’s Hard Rock Stadium, has not relinquished the top spot since December 2019, when he snapped previous BWAA pound-for-pound king Vasiliy Lomachenko’s seven-poll win streak by a point in the tightest BWAA poll yet.

The BWAA’s pound-for-pound polls are selected by BWAA members from respected news outlets and is broken down based on a descending points system, with a first-place vote receiving 10 points, a second-place vote receiving nine points and so on. Ties go to the fighter with the most votes.

The BWAA has been listing on a bimonthly basis its top-10 pound-for-pound fighters in the world. All BWAA members, full and auxiliary, can send their top-10 pound-for-pound votes in for each even month to

The next deadline will be Friday, April 16, 2021, with the results posted later that month.

The top six remain the same since the last BWAA poll was taken in December 2020, with Alvarez followed by Terence Crawford, Naoya Inoue, Errol Spence Jr., lightweight world champion and BWAA 2020 Fighter of the Year Teofimo Lopez and Oleksandr Usyk in that order.

Heavyweight world champion Tyson Fury moves from No. 8 to No. 7, just edged out by Usyk with 75 points at No. 6.

Vasiliy Lomachenko drops from No. 7 to No. 8, while Gennadiy Golovkin, based on his dominating victory over mandatory IBF middleweight title challenger Kamil Szeremeta in December, moves from No. 9 to No. 10. Manny Pacquiao replaces junior bantamweight champ Juan Francisco Estrada at No. 10.

Terence Crawford maintains his place at No. 2 on the BWAA's pound-for-pound top 10 list.

1. Canelo Alvarez (177 points)

Super Middleweight

54-1-2 (36 KOs)

2. Terence Crawford: (148)


37-0-0 (28 KOs)

3. Naoya Inoue (135)


20-0-0 (17 KOs)

4. Errol Spence Jr. (119)


27-0-0 (21 KOs)

5. Teofimo Lopez (90)


16-0-0 (12 KOs)

6. Oleksandr Usyk (75)


18-0-0 (13 KOs)

7. Tyson Fury (69)


30-0-1 (21 KOs)

8. Vasiliy Lomachenko (55)


14-2-0 (10 KOs)

9. Gennadiy Golovkin (33)


40-1-1 (35 KOs)

10. Manny Pacquiao (24)


62-7-2 (39 KOS)

Also receiving votes: Juan Francisco Estrada (23), Josh Taylor (12), Kazuto Ioka (11), Artur Beterbiev (7), Jermell Charlo (7), Gervonta Davis (7), Devin Haney (5), Miguel Berchelt (4), Roman Gonzalez (4), Jermall Charlo (3), Emanuel Navarrete (1), Caleb Plant (1).


Recent Posts


Follow Us

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
bottom of page